• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photoshop Action - change file name when saving

Engaged ,
Sep 20, 2020 Sep 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Up front: I am new to using Actions, please bear with me.

Have created one that simply does Autotone and Autocontrast, which the for many old, low quality, yellow/orange coloured scanned photos is okay. The outcome is pretty decent.

The action also includes a "File > Save".

The idea is that from Bridge I will select photos and Tools > Photoshop run the action. 

Q: Is there a way to automatically change the name when saving, for instance add a word to the file, like "Results", i.e. Photo.jpg >  Results-Photo.jpg.

This way the original will still be there should the action not is not sufficiently enough.

Thanks.

TOPICS
Actions and scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 20, 2020 Sep 20, 2020

My 5 cents. You can add prefix or suffix to the file name when batch processing files using Image Processor Pro, here is my tutorial on that topic https://www.dezigneasy.com/2014/07/how-to-add-prefix-and-suffix-to-file.html

Image Processor Pro is not installed by default download it from here https://sourceforge.net/projects/ps-scripts/files/Image%20Processor%20Pro/v3_2%20betas/,

Here is link to video tutorial which also may help https://www.dezigneasy.com/2016/05/batch-process-in-photoshop-using-image.html

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I think that would take a Script. 

// 2020, use it at your own risk;
if (app.documents.length > 0) {
var myDocument = app.activeDocument;
try {
var theName = myDocument.name.match(/(.*)\.[^\.]+$/)[1];
var thePath = myDocument.path;
}
catch (e) {
var theName = myDocument.name;