Highlighted

Photoshop and Printing larger prints. Speed up Photoshop for large files!

New Here ,
Sep 18, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi! 
I have been working with PS for about a year and have started to create digital artwork that I am now looking to print and sell. I am a newbie to this, have no prior experience with printing, and I have previously had my settings "wrong".. So I am currently trying to learn how it works! 

According to the photo/printing lab I have talked with, I should have the settings to;

maximum size I want to print the piece in (this will be 140x175cm - which will be around 16.000x20.000px), 300dpi, Adobe RGB, and preferably RGB 16bit if that works for my computer. 

My new Macbook Pro 16' is about a month old, it is the best MacBook laptop currently on the market. After applying and trying out these new settings Photoshop is extremely slow (saving and turning layers into smart objects mostly). The file size on my current project (first time doing with these settings) is already up to 15 Gb (around 100-150 layers) and I am not anywhere near done. It is completely removing the fun of it, having to sit and wait for so long all the time. Currently saving in .psb.

What can I do to speed up the process? Is it necessary with 16bit? I am only going to use the pieces on screen (uploading on social media) and for printing.

The type of art pieces that I am creating are photo composites. I either take my own photos or use stock photos from sites like Shutterstock to create a final image. The images I use from Shutterstock etc, is always 300dpi and ranges from around 3000-7000 px. I am not sure what .bit format they are but since they are in jpegs I assume 8bit.

Since I am new to all this I am not sure how this works but there might be unnecessary to use 16bit in the settings if the images I am using are 8bit? Then it will even not be 16bit or??