• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photoshop changing a colour help please!

New Here ,
Aug 04, 2018 Aug 04, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

As a complete beginner here I could do with some help. I have a layer colored grey and I want to change it to red.
This is probably something quite easy for you guys but I have not done it beffore and am struggling.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There are many ways to change a color in Photoshop and without an image as a guide I can only guess at what you are trying to do, but here is how to change the color of an entire photograph that will work most of the time

I started with some silver coins

1.jpg

Now if your image is grey it may be in Greyscale so check and convert it to RGB otherwise you cannot color.

2.jpg

Apply a 'solid color' adjustment layer as shown

3.jpg

The color selection box will popup. I chose a golden-yellow

4.jpg

Click OK and in the 'layers' panel change the blend mode to 'color' and adjust the opacity to suit. The silver coins now become gold coins

5.jpg

If you want you can use 'curves' to enhance the contrast.

6.jpg

Obviously this method colors everything, if you want to color individual elements then things are more complex but the method will work to change a grey to something else.

Terri

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

A brilliant tutorial from the great Terri.

Terri have you tried the new (CC2018) Select > Subject tool yet?

D