Exit

Photoshop view vs Windows Photos view vs Camera RAW view all different

Community Beginner ,
Aug 01, 2020 Aug 01, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

image.png

image.png

I will definitely admit that I am still learning the ways of Photoshop as I try not to manipulate photos more than just basic editing using camera RAW, with some lighting and color corrections.  That being said, I was very surprised when I dragged one of my post edits of a photo (JPEG version) over to photoshop and the color was a lot different than it looked in both in the RAW version and the Windows Photos viewer.  Any help with figuring out why this is?  I'm worried going forward that if I ever shoot in JPEG and not RAW, my colors will not be correct in post edits, even though it might appear correct in photoshop.  Thank you for the help in advance. 

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Is Windows Photos Color Managed? 

If the answer is »no« or »I don’t know« then concerning yourself with its disaply is a waste of time. 

What are Photoshop’s Edit > Color Settings? 

Please set the Status Bar to »Document Profile« and post a meaningful screenshot of the image in Photoshop. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Photoshop and Lightroom are color managed, and use the monitor profile to display correct colors.

When they don't display identically, it's usually caused by a defective monitor profile.

The Photos app is not color managed (does not use the monitor profile), and can not be expected to display correct colors.