Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

ppi and real size confusions

New Here ,
Dec 19, 2020 Dec 19, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello there,

I'm pretty new to the world of Adobe, just started learning Illustrator two months ago, Photoshop something like a month and now i'm getting to Indesign.

One thing i noticed when creating a new file in Indesign is that you can't choose its resolution (in ppi) like the two others. Then i realized i hadn't really understood this notion. I went on the 3 softwares and played with it a little and now it's really messy in my head.

For example, when i "export as" JPG in Photoshop a file that was set in 300 ppi, when i open this JPG in Photoshop it is displayed as 4 times wider than the original format. When exported from a 72 ppi document, its dimensions remains pretty much the same.

Also, i created a document in the 3 softwares at the standard a4 format (210x297 mms) and put a real sheet of paper on my monitor  to check at which zoom level the document would appear the same size.

On Photoshop, if the ppi is set at 300, they equalize at a 31% zoom. At 72 ppi, it's 129,17%.
On Illustrator, no matter what ppi i choose when creating the document, they will show real size at 100% zoom (to be a little more precise, they are a tiny bit smaller, something like 3 millimeters, both in Photoshop and Illustrator.)
Then on Indesign, the document is 5 millimeters wider at 100% zoom level. I find it matching precisely at 98%.

It's really confusing me...

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied