• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

RGB & CMYK images look the same

Community Beginner ,
Aug 08, 2020 Aug 08, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi. I'm new to Photoshop. I need to convert 60 images from RGB to CMYK. That is because once the RGB images are printed they look over-saturated and some colors are not the same. I tried using an online product to convert them and did NOT do any editing to the CMYK images and once printed they still look over-saturated and some colors are not the same.

So, in Photoshop, I open an image, make a duplicate, put them side by side, and convert one of them to CMYK. I expected them to look different but they don't. When they look different I can modify the saturation, colors, etc. but when they look the same I can't do that.

I tried changing my color settings to North American Prepress 2 and tried converting another one and the two images still look the same.

Can anyone provide any tips about how I can see the color differences on my monitor so I can edit the CMYK image?

Thank you.

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Since printing converts the RGB images to the printer's colours (probably CMYK, but not necessarily), you may be trying to solve the problem the wrong way. If the images appear over-saturated perhaps they really are over-saturated... but something in your set up stops you seeing them that way. Or perhaps you have the wrong kind of conversion.

Do you understand colour management, or try to avoid it? The fact that you "pick another" CMYK profile suggests you are assuming they are pretty much interchangable - they aren't! What RGB and CMYK profiles are in use here, and what is the output device? And do you have a calibrated monitor?

Votes

Translate

Translate