• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Running a jsx script with AppleScript in Photoshop using do javascript

Explorer ,
Apr 08, 2020 Apr 08, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everybody! I just wrote a script in javascript for Photoshop and it works perfectly. I just wanted to implement an action in automator that opens Photoshop and runs this script. I tried to run an Applescript but I spent hours with the function "do javascript..." following the reference on javascript for Photoshop without success. I dont know if its a problem of syntax or its not the good function. I precise that this only line worked :

do javascript "alert(1)". And it showed 1, but no way to run my script. Even "do javascript "alert("Hello World") " doesnt work. Any help is welcome ! 

ps: Im a beginner!

TOPICS
Actions and scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Apr 08, 2020 Apr 08, 2020

One method to point to an external JSX file:

tell application "Adobe Photoshop CC 2019"
	activate
	do javascript of file "/Users/username/Desktop/alert.jsx"
end tell

Or slightly different syntax:

activate
	do javascript (file "Users:username:Desktop:alert.jsx")
end tell

To run the JS code inline within the AppleScript:

activate
	do javascript "app.runMenuItem(stringIDToTypeID('selectAllLa

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Apr 08, 2020 Apr 08, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

One method to point to an external JSX file:

activate
	do javascript of file "/Users/username/Desktop/alert.jsx"
end tell

Or slightly different syntax:

activate
	do javascript (file "Users:username:Desktop:alert.jsx")
end tell

To run the JS code inline within the AppleScript:

activate
	do javascript "app.runMenuItem(stringIDToTypeID('selectAllLayers'));"