• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Scaling down image made png file size larger.

Explorer ,
Feb 03, 2021 Feb 03, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,
I'm pretty new to photoshop and I noticed something troubling when I was saving png files. I was working from a psd and I used the save as option to save a png at the original resolution. I then scaled the image down to a lower resolution (original was 10,800 square pixels and it was scaled down to 10,000 square pixels) and saved it as a png again. The 2nd scaled down image actually ended up having a larger file size than the first one. I saved both of them using the largest file size option, but the scaled down one should still be smaller. Why has this happened and how can I stop it from happening? I'm using the latest verson of Photoshop and I'm on Windows 10.

Thanks.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 04, 2021 Feb 04, 2021

jpg employs lossy compression so it is to be avoided (until the very final output at least). 

That some stock sites seem to prefer it is their choice and certainly not owed to quality considerations per se … 

Photoshop’s Save As-png has problems of its own – those pngs assume the Working Space when opened.

So Color Management nonsense … 

tif and psd are perfectly fine file formats for distributing images. 

Why do you provide 3x3 tiles?

They seem to be perfectly repeating in the 10800x10800 image so

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Feb 04, 2021 Feb 04, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Please post the two pngs. 

»the scaled down one should still be smaller.«