Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Script to set the biggest document (by file size) to active

New Here ,
Sep 21, 2020 Sep 21, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am new to photoshop scripting and I am looking for a script that sets the biggest document, in terms of file size, to active and brings it to the front on photoshop. I am looking to do this because of the 'crop and straighten' function in photoshop. While batch cropping a thousand photos at a time, sometimes the 'crop and straighten' function crops an image into multiple documents. This isn't a problem, but sometimes then photoshop will perform this function and then set the active document to, for example, a piece of dust. In this example, photoshop will have cropped multiple documents from the original photo and the desired cropped document won't be set to active and instead a cropped image of dust. This doesn't happen too often, but in some cases could happen to maybe 10% of the batched images. To solve this problem, I would need photoshop to find the biggest document loaded in photoshop after it has performed the 'crop and straighten' function. I imagine it would set the original photo as active because that is still loaded, but that can be solved by closing that image first after the 'crop and straighten' is performed. Thank you for the help, everything is greatly appreciated. 

TOPICS
Actions and scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

People's Champ , Sep 21, 2020 Sep 21, 2020
var old_units = app.preferences.rulerUnits;
app.preferences.rulerUnits = Units.PIXELS;

var sizes = [];

for (var i = 0; i < app.documents.length; i++)
    sizes.push({size: app.documents[i].width.value * app.documents[i].height.value, idx:i});

sizes.sort(cmp);

function cmp(a, b)
    {