Highlighted

Smaller than usual PSD Photoshop thinks would be over 2GB?

New Here ,
Oct 14, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Normally I have fairly large PSDs (over 4 GB is not unheard of - large canvases with lots of layers and sometimes lots of nested smart objects).

Today I was saving a simple iPhone X resolution file with only 5 rasterized layers, but Photoshop gave me an error that it couldn't be saved due to being over 2 GB (I couldn't believe it would be that big plus I have PSDs that are larger than that). I was able to save it as a PSB which came out at 500 MB.

Does anyone know what's going on / how to prevent it / fix it?

Thanks in advance (and sorry for any post etiquette failure, it's my first time having any issue and trying to post about it).

Current version of Adobe CC

Windows 10

TOPICS
How to, Import and export, Problem or error, Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Smaller than usual PSD Photoshop thinks would be over 2GB?

New Here ,
Oct 14, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Normally I have fairly large PSDs (over 4 GB is not unheard of - large canvases with lots of layers and sometimes lots of nested smart objects).

Today I was saving a simple iPhone X resolution file with only 5 rasterized layers, but Photoshop gave me an error that it couldn't be saved due to being over 2 GB (I couldn't believe it would be that big plus I have PSDs that are larger than that). I was able to save it as a PSB which came out at 500 MB.

Does anyone know what's going on / how to prevent it / fix it?

Thanks in advance (and sorry for any post etiquette failure, it's my first time having any issue and trying to post about it).

Current version of Adobe CC

Windows 10

TOPICS
How to, Import and export, Problem or error, Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines