• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Trouble Removing White Background to Create Vector Image...

New Here ,
Oct 12, 2020 Oct 12, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Good Morning!

I'm fairly new to photoshop and ilusstrator, and I'm having trouble removing the white background for two air conditioner condenser images in order to create a vector image for marketing materials. The way I have learned to do this in the past is to do an image trace, but when I do an image trace on either one of the images it is greatly distorting the image. I have tried selecting "ignore white background" and leaving this selection off in image trace, but neither way is coming out well. Can someone please point me in the right direction on how to remove the white background but not the white inbetween the grates on the condensor? I've attached the two condensor images from which I am trying to remove the background, and I have also attached an example (Trane vector image) of what I need the other two to look like.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

Image Trace in Illustrator will probably not work well for something this complex, but we have not seen your settings in the Image Trace panel before you click Expand.

If you simply want to remove the white background in Photoshop and keep it raster, try Select Subject (or trace it with the Pen tool), then add a layer mask. Remember that jpeg does not support transparency, but tiff, psd, and png do.

~ Jane

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines