• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

using layers to swap faces

New Here ,
Jan 21, 2021 Jan 21, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am brand new to working with layers.  I have watched the tutorials, however when I lasso a subject and then copy, the lasso'd object does not show up as another layer.  It creates just a "checkerboard" layer.  I have tried multiple things for hours today, and I cannot figure this out!!

Michele

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Jan 21, 2021 Jan 21, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

After selectin subject you should press Ctrl/Cmd + J to duplicate what is inside selection or to Copy then to Paste on new layer. Perhaps you are missing step to paste or using wrong command/option for execution?

If answer does not help please describe step by step what are you doing exactly.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Feb 02, 2021 Feb 02, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

This is the procedure I am using:

1. Open the picture I want to keep for background
2. Open the picture I want to take the face from
3. Use the lasso tool to pick the face.
4. ctrl C - the copy shows up as a new layer with just the checkboard. The same occurs when I use ctrl J

I have watched more tutorials, but with the same outcome. I am so very frustrated!

Thank you for your help!!

Michele

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Michele

Photoshop can be frustrating when you are starting out, and we have all been there.  

You say you use the lasso tool to make your selection?