• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

What file setup specifications would be best for an A4 kids illustrated book?

Explorer ,
Oct 25, 2019 Oct 25, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello

I am a new illustrator, illustrating a children’s book for a client. They intended to get it published (I don’t know with who). I never having illustrated a book for official printing before was wondering if you know or have a page that you can link me too that list what specifications would be best for the final product?/ What you would recommend.

e.g. 300dpi resolution or something higher?

If I have the dimensions in centimetre, should I change the resolution to 300 pixels/cm?

RGB or CMYK colour print profile?

Same size as physical printing (e.g A4 or create a bigger size (A3) so it can be scaled down?

I have created artworks before, just never for official printing, so I don’t want to mess things up and have to redo everything if it turns out I am wrong.

Thanks

I appreciate your help

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Enthusiast ,
Oct 26, 2019 Oct 26, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Oct 27, 2019 Oct 27, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

300 pixels per inch is the general rule of thumb for book and magazine print.