Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Workflow for bird photography

Community Beginner ,
Oct 02, 2017 Oct 02, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All -

I'm a professional bird photographer working on a video project with birds.   I've used adobe products for many years and am expert with Lightroom and to some extent photoshop.  I've watched tutorials on Prelude, Premiere and FCPX, and have played around with them.  I also have Edit ready and other transcoding software.  I'm using a Sony Alpha A9 and previously shot with a Canon C100 Mk2.  My computer is a loaded 2017 iMac 27", and I have a Pegasus Thunderbolt raid I can use for editing. 

SO, the issue I have is that I'm shooting hundreds of short clips of birds in flight.  If this was a photo project my workflow would be to pick my "keeper" images in Photomechanic (faster than Lightroom) and throw out the rest.  Then convert the keepers to DNG and delete the originals.  Imports DNGs in Lightroom to rename (BirdName_ShootDate_Sequence#) and do quick corrections.  Later, if I need an image I can search by bird name, date, etc and then do some final adjustments in Lightroom and Photoshop (if necessary) and export to JPG or whatever I need.

My question is, what is the best workflow for a similar problem with video.  I'm shooting short clips, usually under 1 minute.  For each clip I'd like to be able to name it with the name, date and a sequence number if possible and trim away any unusable parts.  I'd also like to be able to discard clips I don't want - as in delete them permanently.  I know that's supposed to be bad practice, but I'm shooting a lot, and clips that are bad are really bad, ie. I will NEVER use them.