• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Codec Missing

New Here ,
May 02, 2019 May 02, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've just stepped into the world of shooting video. I've done a limited number using my Nikon DSLR and have had no issues. I recently purchased a GoPro 7 Black, a new laptop with a i7-8750H, 32gig of RAM, NVIDIA Ge Force GTX 1050 w/4gig GDDR5, 1TB SSD, & 4k 15" display.  I also purchased Adobe Premiere Elements after reading several reviews comparing the elements to the Pro version since I'm only doing occasional editing on an amateur level. When I try to import a video into Elements, I get a notice that the file is not supported due to a missing codec. First, where would I find the "codec"? Clearly I did not purchase the Pro ($250/yr) since I'm just beginning my voyage into video. am I needing a different editor to use the better quality vids from the GoPro?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , May 02, 2019 May 02, 2019

You're caught in a war of the corporate titans over licensing of a codec called "H.265".   Adobe chooses to not include it in their basic video editor system.  The assumption is that it relates to the costs of the licensing fees.

H.264 is much closer to a universal codec and is well supported.

I don't have a GoPro but I've read that only one or two of the format choices requires H.265.  If I remember right, it is the 4K at 60 frames per second.  Other settings in the GoPro use H.264.

Your choice

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
May 02, 2019 May 02, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied