Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

ADVANCED QUESTION - Choosing Camera Video Setting

Explorer ,
Aug 11, 2018 Aug 11, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Level: Advanced Query

Choosing "the right" camera video setting has a vital impact on image quality and editing/post-production, both today and in the future, as many of us know. - The thread is about this.

Hello Everyone,

Background: I’m a veteran photographer and retoucher since more than two decades ago. I have currently for a couple years put effort in enhancing my skill set in: Creating video with the camera and Premiere Elements. Now I need some advanced advice, please.

With Mediainfo, I have on a deeper level investigated the characteristics and capabilities of the options my Sony camera offers. Hence I would be fond of some experienced answers on the following questions. Thank you for your cooperation!

QUESTIONS

The Sony camera is offering two digital container file types. .MTS (AVCHD) and .MP4. Both .MTS and .MP4 contains AVC video (AVC (High(a)L4.2 or L4) (CABAC / 2 Ref Frames). The video result will most often be played on a 40 inches HD-TV (PAL).

i) Everything else being equal/taken out of the equation (like resolution, bitrate, etc) which is the better choice when it comes to: Both filming and editing during post-production? What are the pros and cons in the cases above, please?

ii) Next, all ratios are 16:9. – However(!) two are anamorphic widescreen as I understand it. That is 1440x1080 (16:9). – Question, when using anamorphic widescreen, do you generally loose something in image quality or not? Does anamorphic widescreen distort the image quality or not?