• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Best format for use in Premiere Elements 2019

Explorer ,
Jul 11, 2019 Jul 11, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I am a newbie to video editing and confused about the wide variety of containers and codecs!  I am having some 8mm cine films converted to digital and want to know what is the best format that I should ask for the output to be in, for importing into Premiere Elements 2019.  Also what project settings should I choose?  I am using Windows 10 on a PC in the UK.  After editing I want to have a high quality version (1920x1080) as the master on the computer (and for viewing on TV e.g. via a USB flash memory stick).  I also want to burn (lower resolution) DVDs for friends and family.  I would very much appreciate any advice on this subject.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 11, 2019 Jul 11, 2019

Ask for 1920x1080 MP4s.

But remember that old 8mm movies were 4:3 rather than 16:9 widescreen, so your video will have black bars along the sides. Which I promise you only you will notice.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Ask for 1920x1080 MP4s.

But remember that old 8mm movies were 4:3 rather than 16:9 widescreen, so your video will have black bars along the sides. Which I promise you only you will notice.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks Steve.  I assume that's MP4 with h.264 codec?  What project file setting would that correspond to?  MP4 does not appear on the drop down list.

Votes

Translate

Translate