• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to remove 'old' Premiere Elements files just taking up space?

Explorer ,
Nov 15, 2018 Nov 15, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

INFO

Windows 10 64bit

The usual default installation of Premiere Elements 2019 (UK)

My projects are being saved in C:\Users\Pete\Documents\Adobe\Premiere Elements\17.0

My current project is called Irene.

As expected, each time I save my progress, I increment my project, and note that PrE creates project files in C:\Users\Pete\Documents\Adobe\Premiere Elements\17.0 called Irene1.prel, Irene2.prel, Irene3.prel etc.  I am now up to Irene10.prel and have run out of space - hence the need to delete versions 1-8!

The source files I need to build the video are all in folders in D:\AdobeProjects\Irene 2018

BACKGROUND

I'm just getting started with Premiere Elements 2019, and I'm gradually working my way through some of my lack of knowledge issues.

So my question relates to how to safely remove old user project files I don't need to keep.

This was prompted by a 'File importer detected an inconsistency in the file structure ' error message which was quickly traced to a full C drive.

This was the result of an intensive few of days with my project, and, because I was saving my progress at regular intervals, I did not notice the space filling up the drive.

I would like to keep the current folder arrangement, just keep Irene 9 and Irene 10.

QUESTIONS

So firstly, before I just simply delete C:\Users\Pete\Documents\Adobe\Premiere Elements\17.0\Irene 1.prel, Irene 2.prel, etc..I want to know if itis safe to do so, or will cause issues.

Of course there are other folders in C:\Users\Pete\Documents\Adobe\Premiere Elements\17.0 :

Adobe Premiere Elements Audio Previews

Adobe Premiere Elements Auto-Save

Adobe Premiere Elements Captured Audio