• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

I'm having trouble adding video clips that I've edited through Premiere Elements 15 to my current video project in the same program.

Community Beginner ,
Jun 27, 2018 Jun 27, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am working on my first video with Premiere Elements 15 on a PC.  My previous experience has been with Microsoft Movie Maker in the past and everything proceeded without incident.   Currently, with Premiere Elements, I've edited 4 video clips and saved them.  Then I tried to add them to my video project and only two would add and the other two clips gave an error message that said: "This type of file is not supported, or the required codec is not installed."  I'm new to working on video editing, and I'm not familiar with codecs.  I assumed if I uploaded the video and edited it with Premiere Elements, then I could use the same clip in future projects.  I'm able to pull up the video and work on it through the file menu under opening recent projects, but it will not import through the add media button.  Any suggestions? 

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , Jul 02, 2018 Jul 02, 2018

Steve,

Thanks for your response.  I had not outputted the two videos that were giving me trouble.  I was able to finish them and use them for my master project.  I did not realize that I needed a program called Quicktime.  I loaded it onto my computer.  Do I need to delete and reload my Premiere Elements program?

Thanks for your help,

Jan

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Jun 28, 2018 Jun 28, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied