• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Importing and rendering 2048x1536 jpgs from iphone XS without degradation - 2020/Windows

New Here ,
Apr 14, 2020 Apr 14, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a newbie working mostly with stills from an epic trip.  I'd sure like to get the workflow right before investing a lot of time in my movie.

If I bring an image into Elements it recognizes it correctly and shows clearly in the (static) preview window, but whether I render it or not it looks substantially degraded when playing, either in a small window or full screen.  Exporting even to UHD format still shows substantially degraded images.   (The source images themselves show beautifully on my 2560x1440 display.)

Once I'm able to include images with minimum degradation the plan would be to rely on pan-and-zoom a fair bit, so resizing them in advance may not be practical.

What preset should I be using?  (Final output could be directly to an HD display or to Vimeo.)

What am I missing?

Thanks!

I'm attaching a sample image.  Even if I deliberately downsample the image to 1080 rows in height the left side of the brim of hat worn by the guy in the middle isn't obviously pixelated in the original and the large text on the bulletin board is clear.  All of the videos I've been able to make so far have visible stair-stepping on the brim of his visor and crummy text.  Even when viewed full-screen using VLC.  Please tell me I'm missing something!

TOPICS
Error or problem , Import , Tips and tricks

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Apr 16, 2020 Apr 16, 2020

"Any pitfalls to be wary of?"