• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Importing digital 8 video into PE 2020

Community Beginner ,
Nov 22, 2020 Nov 22, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I'm a bit of a novice working with video files.  I just purchased PE 2020 and I'm looking for a way to import video from Sony Digital 8 tapes into PE 2020 for editing and storage on my Windows 10 PC.  I still have the camera to play the tapes, but I have no firewire port in my PC, nor an open expansion slot to install a firewire card.  I tried using the camera's USB cable, but the Sony USB drivers apparently won't install on Windows 10.  I was hoping someone might be able to relay another method of doing this.  Thanks in advance. 

TOPICS
Import

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Nov 23, 2020 Nov 23, 2020

Digital 8, like miniDV, was captured to your computer only via an IEEE-1394 FireWire connection. But Premiere Elements hasn't included a tool for capturing digital tape-based video since version 12.

Do you have a FireWire connection on your computer? If so, you can still capture the video with a program like WinDV and edit it in Premiere Elements.

If not, you'll need to use a USB-based digitizer like the Diamond VC500.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Nov 23, 2020 Nov 23, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Digital 8, like miniDV, was captured to your computer only via an IEEE-1394 FireWire connection. But Premiere Elements hasn't included a tool for capturing digital tape-based video since version 12.

Do you have a FireWire connection on your computer? If so, you can still capture the video with a program like WinDV and edit it in Premiere Elements.

If not, you'll need to use a USB-based digitizer like the Diamond VC500.

Votes

Translate