• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Is Premiere Elements 2020 a memory hog for any of you?

New Here ,
Apr 17, 2020 Apr 17, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been using premiere elements since the 2012 version. I just upgraded from 2019 to 2020. The difference is that I am editing HEVC files, which is working well in general. I have been monitoring my task manager and noticed my memory is near maxed out and before I would rarely hit 50%. 

I am running a AMD Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core Processor 3.7 GHz and 16 GB of RAM. I was almost about to buy 32 GB of RAM to solve but am trouble shooting now and reinstalling.

I heard from some people that it is best to keep your project files on a separate hard disk than your operating system. My operating system and programs are on a 500 GB SSD and I usually move my project files from my 2 TB drive too the SSD.

Any thoughts welcome. Thank you.

TOPICS
Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Apr 18, 2020 Apr 18, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

With that processor, I don't think you'll see a huge boost in performance by doubling your RAM or splitting your project files from your program files. It can't hurt -- but you've got lots of power.

Just render your timeline whenever you see a yellow orange "render" line along the top and, whenever possible, ensure that your project settings match your video specs and you'll get the best performance you can from Premiere Elements.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Apr 20, 2020 Apr 20, 2020