• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Never use compression in Premiere Elements 2018?

Aug 11, 2018 Aug 11, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

HI folks.  Complete newb to Premiere Elements and most Adobe editing products.  I'm trying to learn a bit more when it comes to video editing so I was playing around a bit today.  One thing I absolutely do not want is compression of either video or audio.  I just have a couple large MP4 files that I want to chop up into smaller, separate MP4 files.  I'm fine splitting and cutting and everything but when I go to export there is a slider and even the "high" setting is compressing my audio.  How do I get Elements to just cut the file where I want and export without any quality loss?  Thank you.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Aug 11, 2018 Aug 11, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Compression can't really be avoided. Some pros use uncompressed footage for special purposes -- but for most part it's too large and bulky use. Imagine video that's like 50 to 100 gigabytes per hour!

In fact, if you're starting out with MP4s, your video is already compressed. And, if you run your video through a video editor, it's going to get compressed again. It really can't be avoided. And thankfully it's not going to cause a noticeable loss in quality.

You can probably avoid compressing your audio if you create a custom output preset that uses PCM 44.1 k audio. But there's just no reason to try to create a fully uncompressed video workflow unless you're shooting a Hollywood movie on a camera system that would preclude you're editing in a program like Premiere Elements.