Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Render the timeline degrades quality

New Here ,
May 06, 2020 May 06, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm a complete newbie to Adobe Premier Elements 2020 and video editing in general.

My specific problem is using the "Render" function. When I mouseover the Render button above the timeline it says, "For smooth, high quality playback, render your timeline". However, I am finding that:

1) If I DO NOT use Render the video plays back at full quality 

2) If I DO use Render the video plays back at lower quality regardless of the Playback quality (Automatic, Highest, Medium, Lowest) 

The video I am editing was recorded in Open Broadcaster Software (OBS) 25.0.8. 

I have looked in the Adobe Premier Elements 2020 project settings and can not find any changes which makes a difference.

When I have finished editing I can use Export & Share - Quick Export to export my video in mp4 format. The quality of the generated file is as good the original.

Therefore, the problem I am having is only applicable to the Render function within the project.

Can anyone tell me:

1) Why Render is degrading the quality of the video?

2) Do I need to use Render at all? (can I just keep editing and then export the final video without any constraints)

Best Wishes

Brian 

TOPICS
Error or problem , User interface or workspaces

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Remember that what you see in the Monitor panel is only a preview. It is not what your final video will look like.

That said, you can right-click on the Monitor panel and set the Quality to its highest. That will make a difference in how it looks. You can also set a higher quality for the render previews in the Preferences, under the Edit menu.