Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Severe editing lag & hours-long export time

New Here ,
Feb 21, 2019 Feb 21, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey!

I've been using Premiere Elements 14 for a couple years and I've never had this problem for more than an hour. It's been 3 days and I can't get Premiere Elements to stop a severe lag in editing as well as huge export times. It's said anywhere from 3 days to 18 hours to 2 hours for small files.

I'm going a little nuts because I work from home & using Elements is a big part of my job! Help so appreciated.

I have updated Windows, my GeForce driver, and just upgraded to Premiere Elements 15 as well.

Not quite sure what I should be putting here to help but here are some specs:

Intel{R] Core [TM} i7-7700K CPU @ 4.20GHz

Installed RAM: 16.0 GB

System type 64-bit os

Windows 10

Thank you!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 21, 2019 Feb 21, 2019

26 GB is low.   If you are down that low it is probably chopped up in fragments. 

I don't know if there is a minimum.  It might depend on the project.  By current standards a 500 GB drive is small and a 1 TB drive is "normal". 

It would appear you need to free up some space!

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

How much free, clean, freshly defragmented space is on your C drive?

What model of camcorder is your video coming from and what is its format and resolution?

When you add this video to your timeline, do you see a yellow orange "render" line above it? This would be an indicator that your project settings do not match your video specs, which can very much affect your performance.

RenderLine.jpg

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines