• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

VHS Imported Footage: Is There a Way to Get Rid of Those Blue-Green Ribbons?

New Here ,
Dec 16, 2020 Dec 16, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Premiere Elements, though not to video editing in general. 

Is there a way to get rid of that blue-green ribbon that you sometimes get on old VHS tapes? (I've imported something using a VHS to PC converter, through PE.)

And also, to fix the bad tracking that may not be fixable by the adjustment on my VHS recorder?

If there are any posts/articles/instructions somewhere, I'd appreciate a link. I'm coming up blank, but it may just be that I don't know what terminology to use to find it.

Thanks!

TOPICS
Error or problem , Import , Tips and tricks

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Dec 16, 2020 Dec 16, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You don't say how you're digitizing your video and with what device. But if you're capturing over a USB connection, you pretty get what you see. You can do a lot to tune in the picture.

As for that noise you get around the edges of your video frame, they're just artifacts from the pre-digital age. 20 years ago, TVs didn't show those edges. There's not a lot you can do to get rid of them aside from enlarging your video in the frame.

Are those the ribbons you're talking about?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Dec 22, 2020 Dec 22, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Firstly, thanks for the reply! Always nice to know I'm not yelling into a void. 🙂