• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

What's the setting to adjust to avoid resolution loss?

New Here ,
Jan 04, 2020 Jan 04, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm an amateur video editor, and occasionally when I try to export, I notice that my ouput file has a big ugly black border, essentially making the video smaller. What setting did I miss? I don't want videos to shrink; I want videos to retain their original size.

TOPICS
Export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jan 04, 2020 Jan 04, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Please post screenshot project settings, export settings and clip info.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Jan 05, 2020 Jan 05, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Is this what you need?

https://ibb.co/JsHZDsb

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Your clips have a different resolution (1280x544) opposite to regular widescreen clips (1280x720).

You can seen that already on the timeline (black bar top and bottom).

I am guessing these clips do not originate from a camera.

You can scale them up or stretch them in the length but then they will appear distorted.

Elements cannot crop on export.

afbeelding.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Your source and project have different aspect ratios.  Premiere Elements uses aspect ratios that fit typical screens.