• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

iPhone 14 Pro HDR Footage in Premiere Pro looks washed out andI've tried everything

New Here ,
Feb 18, 2023 Feb 18, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

So I'm having the same issue as many others, having washed out and overexposed footage in Premiere because it was filmed on an iPhone 14 in HDR. 

I feel like I've tried everything, and still no luck. 

I've tried all the different colour space settings on both the clip and the sequence. 

I've changed the colour display setting in the general preferences. 

I've also downloaded a LUT that was supposed to fix the issue - but still no luck. 

When I change these settings, the footage changes - but nothing makes it look like the original footage that was filmed. 

I'm a freelance video editor, and this edit is for a super important client - can anyone please help me? 

Screenshot 2023-02-18 at 17.35.08.pngScreenshot 2023-02-18 at 17.34.57.png

Bug Unresolved
TOPICS
Color

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

LEGEND , Feb 18, 2023 Feb 18, 2023

HDR media can look spectacular. And working with it in Premiere just went through another major change. So yea, it can be confusing at first ... again. But it should be pretty easy to get going.

That said, however, HDR is still very much the wild-wild-west of video production. Many screens don't handle it correctly, and more don't at all. And processing it is more complex than working with SDR media. A lot of people turn the HLG capture off on their iPhones still, staying in Rec.709 workflows

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Feb 18, 2023 Feb 18, 2023

Votes

Translate

Translate
9 Comments