• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

a solution to sluggish performance in Premiere: Keep Bins Closed

Community Expert ,
Apr 23, 2023 Apr 23, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

So I'm providing support for a client with a very complex documentary project.  When I stopped by his edit room today, he explained that he was seeing sluggish behavior.  He's got a decent intel imac pro with 64 gigs of RAM.  When he was playing his 3 hr sequence which he was building for the writer's review, initially the system would be responsive, but as I started playing and clicked further down in the timeline, eventually the system would choke for a few seconds to update the image in the program monitore and only then I'd be able to hit the space bar or hit the play button and get a response...   Now, this was not a deal breaker, but always a good idea when things START acting wonky, to at least try and figure out where the problem is originating from, before things escalate.  

We've been discussing moving the project to a production so I started figuring out exactly how complex the project was to describe the situation in a post I'll finish later about whether it makes sense to move to a production and the best way to organize the production.     So as I was looking at the scope of the project by expanding the project to fill the screen, I noticed he had about 20 bin tabs open.  This seriously upset my OCD...  and when I asked why he had so many bins open, he didn't realize that he had...  Closed all the bins... and lo and behold, back to a responsive interface.   

I imagine having too many sequences open could also choke the system...  

Hope this is of some help to others...

Mod note: Title changed slightly.

TOPICS
Editing , Performance , User interface or workspaces

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more