• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Adjusting curves numerically

New Here ,
Dec 07, 2022 Dec 07, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a still photographer first and videographer second.  I use the curves feature every day in Photoshop to tone my images.  Today, I am color grading video footage in Premiere Pro CC 2023.

As I use curves in the color workspace of Premiere Pro, I have always wished I could adjust the curves values numerically like I can in Photoshop - adjusting incrementally by taps of the arrow keys rather than having to drag points with my mouse.  Sometimes the adjustments I need to make are extremely fine and it is very difficult to get them just right by dragging the mouse.

Anyone else deal with this problem?

TOPICS
Editing

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Having come into video post out of a long stills career, at first I also tried to equate video and stills color. They are by nature two very different beasts, and though some of your skills and technique will still apply, many concepts and practics must be adapted to this medium's needs and possibilities.

I don't know a video post app that allows for digital entry of numbers for a Curves panel. Might exist, but if so, I've neither heard of nor seen it. And I work for/with/teach pro colorists.

When working in the Curves panel in Lumetri, it's wise to make the Lumetri panel as wide as possible to get a larger curves box to work with. Very helpful when doing color to have a 'clean feed' monitor, using the Transmit Out option, so you don't need to see the image on the UI screen.