• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Advice for a Windows Premiere Pro veteran switching to a MacBook M1 Max

Explorer ,
Oct 26, 2021 Oct 26, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been producing commercial video for 30 years (way back to Avid in the early days, but Premiere Pro for the past 15).  I have always been a Windows guy because I liked being able to build the monster hardware needed to keep-up with NLE.

BUT ... I need to replace my laptop editing system.  I use my laptop when I fly back from shoots to start my editing process.  I have a lot of jobs active, so I use a 8TB SSD drive array.  My windows rig is 12.5 lbs!!! It is fast, but it is a BEAST.  I've decided to give the MacBook M1 Max a try (3.5 lbs).

Can those of you that are Mac veterans kindly offer your advice on things I should beware of, make sure I do, make sure I NEVER do, etc.?  Some questions:

• Does Premiere Pro CC run well on the MacBook?  I realize nobody has used the M1 Max yet, since it isn't shipping, but there are earlier M1 MacBooks.  Is it running okay?  Is it stable?  Perform well?

• I would like to have at least 2 monitors at the office I can drive from the M1 Max.  I have a couple of LG WK95C-W monitors I could use.  Any reason they wouldn't work?

I appreciate any and all advice.  Thanks for indulging the oldest Mac newbie on the planet!  But, in my defense, I did use the very first Mac model that Apple sold.  So, there's that ...

THANKS!

Neil Myers

TOPICS
How to , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied