• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Cross Dissolve in Premier is broken, it transitions on a curve, not linearly

Contributor ,
Nov 08, 2022 Nov 08, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

firstly I have no interest in anyones patronizing response, I've done this a long time and have self taught dozens of post production tools, thank you.

Premier's cross dissolve doesn't transition evenly, this has been a problem for many years, but I'm choosing today to gripe about it.

The transition never feels linear, it's either moving too slow then speeds up at the end of vice versa, almost as if there's easing, but there is NOT, this is just from straight applying default transition, and on my system I have it set to 15 frames, but I see the issue no matter the transition length.

I have workarounds like manually keyframing the clips opacity, or using a black solid and building a manual fade from black (or white etc), but this is all nonsense, the transition should just do it's job and not require this extra effort or a post in a forum.

The main crime here is that the speed shift is perceptible which makes the transitions jarring, which is one of the reasons to use a cross dissolve, to soften the transition between shots (as well as show a change of time or place etc)

TOPICS
Effects and Titles , Error or problem

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Many of us switched to FilmImpacts basic dissolve, it's free to install. It used to be 4 basic transitions, including 'Impact Dissolve'. It was documented on their site, basically what you are saying.

https://www.filmimpact.com/

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines