Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

GoPro Footage quality decrease, only during fast sequences, after export

Community Beginner ,
Feb 02, 2022 Feb 02, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all,

I'm very new to premiere pro, and learning a lot! Recently I did some scuba diving and shot some footage of the reef with an older GoPro Hero 4. The GoPro was set to protune 2.7K 120 fps. But, I have run into a problem: some segments of the footage become grainy and lose quality for short periods of time throughout the exported video (this is especially apparent when a large ammount of fish make very quick movements). The raw footage does not have this quality problem at all, it is crystal clear. My export settings are H.264, Match Source - High bitrate. I was told to set the frame rate higher when filming underwater to catch the darting of fish, but this seems to be adding to the problem for me. Also, as with all underwater footage, I had to do some intense color correction to get color back into the film, which is perhaps also adding to this. (Most of the problems seem to happen with parts of the footage that are heavily color corrected)

JamesR22964061dmup_0-1643825900005.png

Not sure if it is as obvious here with these poor-quality screen-shots, but:

Here, the school of fish is in focus, clear and crisp:

JamesR22964061dmup_1-1643826017253.png

As I approach the school and the fish start darting out of the way, the footage immediately becomes blotchy and grainy, and looses sharpness and focus:

JamesR22964061dmup_2-1643826050559.png

As soon as the fish school leaves me and the fast movement decreases, instantly the footage regains it's clarity and sharpness:

JamesR22964061dmup_3-1643826126384.png

Only when the fish are moving (or in similar scenerios) does this seem to happen.