• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Interpreting 59.94 as 23.976 - Timeline Retime verses Clip interpretation - BEST PRACTICES

Explorer ,
Apr 23, 2023 Apr 23, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

My camera op likes to cut 59.94 clips into a 23.976 sequence and retime the clip in the timeline to slow it down.  As an editor, I prefer to actually interpret the clip at 23.976, so that I can see the motion of the clip in the source window before deciding to cut it into the timeline. This works faster for me.  

What is the best practice?  Timeline retime or clip interpretation to slow down 59.94 footage in a 23.976 sequence?

The one issue I run into interpreting 59.94 clips at 23.976, is that the camera created proxies are still at 59.94.  Anyone have any ideas how to fix that, or do I just have to create new proxies at 23.976?

TOPICS
Editing

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Enthusiast ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello filmsproket,

There are advantages and disadvantages to using speed ("timeline retime") vs. interpret footage.

Using the Interpret Footage command changes how a file is interpreted throughout a project.

link (under Change the frame rate of clips) 

But this comes with a big caveat: the Interpret Footage functions are not compatible with using Premiere Pro's built-in proxy workflow. "Doing so will result in unexpected behavior."

If you are using the "built-in" proxy workflow and using Premire Pro to connect proxies as well as original footage, then you should not use the Interpret Footage function at all.