• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

minimum laptop to run latest version of Premiere?

Community Expert ,
Apr 26, 2023 Apr 26, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

so I've been using a 2012 macbookpro to work onsite with clients but am stuck in premiere 2022...  got a new macstudio recently for working from my office.   Don't need a high power machine to do this kind of work as I always generate prores proxies for all media and don't do any serious effects or outputting when I'm working at a clients...   Anyone using a base model macbook air with premiere or an inexpensive windows laptop?   I have extensive experience moving projects between mac and windows so don't anticipate any issues...  Could do some research consulting Premiere minimum hardware required, but more interested in realworld experiences.  

thanks as always.  

TOPICS
Editing , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I edit rather basic projects (cuts and Essential Graphics lower thirds, some transitions, few effects) from H.264 camera source clips, on an M1 Pro MacBook Pro with 32GB unified memory, and don’t bother with proxies any more because editing flows smoothly enough with original clips. A current M2 MacBook Air should be comparable to that, and should run Premiere Pro well. You might get away with 16GB unified memory, but maxing out the M2 Air at 24GB would be better to make more unified memory available for GPU acceleration, especially if you keep multiple applications open.