Premiere 2021 audio not importing with video files

Community Beginner ,
Sep 27, 2021 Sep 27, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

My files are only importing as video without the audio. I am working in Premiere v.15.4.1 and on a mac mojave. I have been using my canon c100 for 5 years and have never run into this issue. I am recording at 24 Mbps and frame rate 24p. 

I can hear my recorded audio on the camera and in VLC. Thanks for any suggestions or help!

TOPICS
Audio , Import

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Adobe Community Professional , Sep 28, 2021 Sep 28, 2021

I accidently did not record with lcpm, which I think is what is causing the problem, but I do not know how to fix it. Any ideas?

By @Meredith5CFA

Then the audio is probably recorded as Dolby Digital and Premiere Pro dropped support for decoding of Dolby Digital files in recent versions. Today Premiere Pro relies on the Dolby Digital decoder in the OS, so if you are using the latest version of Premiere Pro on let´s say Windows 7 this will happen. (Or an old version of Mac OS)

Version of Pre

Translate

Translate
Adobe Community Professional ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Almost always this is a simple thing to fix ... "source" tracking. Look at the following graphic, and make sure you have a source track target set for the audio on the far left.

Neil

Source Patching.PNG

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Neil,