• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Premiere Pro CC version 22.0: Black Screen and Playback Performace with Cuda GPU

Community Beginner ,
Nov 18, 2021 Nov 18, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have seen other threads on this topic, This is still an issue with the current version of permiere. This is not a small problem, this is a huge problem. I have had to scrap projects that I started in premiere and finish them in Davinci Resolve because I was faster than spending hours more troubleshooting.

I have been using Premiere since 1998 and kind of like it, but premiere is no longer a reliable tool that I can depend on.

I have been dealing with a couple issues with Permiere Pro CC since the 2020 version came out and am currently running version 22.0. Prior to the 2020 upgrade, I did not see these issues. Davinci resolve plays back files just fine on the same pc since 2020.

Issue 1:

Playing a video clip, could be h264, could be pro-res, could be DNxHR, could be 4k, could be 1080p or even less. Monitor window and mercury transmit go black. Audio playback continues to work and the UI functions normally. Must restart Premiere in order to restore playback functionality. 

Issue 2:

Playing a video clip, could be h264, could be pro-res, could be DNxHR, could be 4k, could be 1080p or even less. Video playback becomes jerky and sometimes pauses for seconds at a time.

Workaround: Set the project to software rendering, close out of the project settings window, re-open project settings and re-enable cuda.

I have tried at least 5 different versions of the Nvidia Game Ready driver including the latest and oldest ones I could find. Unfortunately, my graphics card is not supported by the studio driver.