• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Quick question about Editing in Premier Pro (is everything in a sequence or there doesn’t need to b

Participant ,
Sep 14, 2021 Sep 14, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Please consider me a newbie, although I have been using Adobe Premier since around the year 2000, I have been using other software and am coming back to premier Pro now. I was an Adobe Premiere power user before CC and also use Adobe Premiere elements.

Question about starting to edit a project; when I create a project and import a collection of media into it, the media is imported at whatever resolution it is natively in.

And if I were to drag a media (image or video clip) onto the timeline window, it would automatically start a new sequence every time, with the sequence using  file resolution that I dragged in right?

Is it possible to start putting media on a timeline without there being a sequence created first?

I AM ASKING BECAUSE I recently made a music video using medium resolution still photos and a wav file, no video clips. When I dragged the photos onto the timeline I think it made a sequence or something, and when I exported it, the video file was very low resolution and even the titles I put on (captions) looked very blurry.

When I made a new sequence and specified my actual HD output resolution and copied and pasted the entire timeline from the first timeline and pasted it into the second sequence/timeline, it outputed as super sharp and clear with smooth captions text.

This makes me wonder about what happened the first time I dragged the images to the timeline, either there was no sequence and PP was just spitting out something low resolution, or it somehow guesstimated the low resolution of the photos and I’ll put that as the resolution (which was 720x480).