• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

.srt into normal titles (Premiere Pro 14.9 and earlier)

Community Beginner ,
Jul 12, 2018 Jul 12, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm quite new to Premiere Pro and have a question on working with .srt files.

First of all, I have a source video which I need to add subtitles. The subtitles are already in the .srt format, and I'm aware that I can use the captioning tool to make the video open captioned. However, there are elements I can only adjust when the text is a 'title' object. Is there anyway I can bring in or convert the .srt as 'titles' into Premiere Pro preferably having them all with the same position, font, color etc. or being able to batch edit the formatting?

Thank you in advance.

David

TOPICS
Effects and Titles

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 12, 2018 Jul 12, 2018

Just thinking out loud; I have never done this.

My guess is that there is so much variation, you will need to make adjustments manually. Part of this is the need to change subtitles (or even if they were titles) in terms of background color and opacity as well as font color.

I first thought the graphics should be in a different file, but as you'll see below, perhaps this can work.

After Effects may not help much here, as you need to split the original subtitle text/timing between a graphics label a

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There is no option to convert the srt file to open captions.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines