Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Timeline playhead stops late after hitting spacebar or K key

Community Beginner ,
Jun 24, 2022 Jun 24, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone!

I'm brand new to Premiere. I've been using Avid since 1995 but I'm trying to give Premiere a shot as it's become the dominant NLE in the corporate video post world and I'm feeling like an outcast surrounded by Premiere users. After watching multiple YouTube videos and reading many online posts about settings and preferences, I still haven't found a solution to what I'm experiencing. When playing a sequence, any sequence consisting of any type of media, when I hit the spacebar to stop playback, the playhead continues to play an estimated 5-10 frames further before stopping. This is infuriating when trying to make precise edits. I've never had to deal with this type of playback issue before in Avid. To get around this problem, I have to zoom in on the timeline and step frame by frame to get to the point I want to make an edit. How can a product that's been out this long still have something so basic not work correctly? It's dumbfounding. Luckily, the project I'm cutting my teeth on is an internal marketing video without a tight deadline. In the meantime, I'll stick with my tried and true Avid platform to get things done.

Has anyone else had this problem, or know of any solutions? Thanks!

My workstation specs:

Premiere 22.5.0

iMac Pro

Monterey OS 12.3.1

2.3 GHz 18-core intel xeon W

128 GB DDR4

Radeon Pro Vega 64 16 GB

G-Speed Shuttle XL TB3 - 42TB usable

TOPICS
Editing , Error or problem , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Contributor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied