Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Video not showing up but I can hear it

Community Beginner ,
Jan 03, 2018 Jan 03, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi!

I'm relatively new to Premiere Pro, but I've edited a few videos without encountering this issue.

I dragged and dropped my video into the application like I usually do, but this time when I press play I can't see anything.

I hear the audio and it looks as though it should be playing, but it's just black. I've tried deleting/clearing the media cache and updating the GPU, but still nothing. I figure I'm doing something wrong, just can't put my finger on it. I've looked at countless YouTube videos with no luck. Any recommendations? I've attached a photo for reference.

Capture.JPG

Thanks in advance!

Katherine

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Beginner , Jun 11, 2021 Jun 11, 2021

Hi, I just encountered the exact same problem. All I tried was close the app and open it back again and it worked properly then! Don't save your changes, click no and close the application. Open it again and import the same files and it works! I know this was posted 3 years ago, but hope this helps users encountering this problem now!

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe Employee , Aug 09, 2021 Aug 09, 2021

Hello All,

A "black screen" is often due to lack of system resources. Try rebooting the computer as an initial troubleshooting step. Make sure that you are also meeting system requirements. Please also check the Help menu for the System Compatibility Report for clues as to the lack of resources for your computer to playback your footage reliably. Project Settings > General > Video Rendering and Playback > Renderer set to Mercury Playback Engine Software Only can also work around this issue: lack

Votes

Translate