• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

ZV-1 4K issues... and a question

Explorer ,
Oct 06, 2022 Oct 06, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all, when adding 4K footage from my recently-acquired Sony ZV-1 to my sequence, the view in the program monitor freezes. I expect my MacBook (mid-2015, 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7, 16 GB) to struggle with 4K footage, but not to keel over so completely. I've created a proxy file and that seems to work fine, but as soon as I press Toggle Proxies it's game over. The view simply doesn't update. I can switch to another timeline, I can theoretically browse, but there's now update in the program monitor. So I seem to have a basic problem with this 4K footage, and looking at the Activity Monitor, there's no great overload of CPU.

Now my question. I want to create some tutorial videos in 1080p. I'm a guitarist, and I want to create a zoomed-in portion for my left hand. So the idea is to have a duplicate of my clip at 250% of the original size, with an opacity mask so I get a circle of my magnified hand. Of course, using 1080 footage, the magnified portion looks a little weedy. My idea was to use 4K footage on a 1080 sequence, with the thought that the magnified portion would look better. Is this daft? If the 4K footage is resized to the dimensions of the 1080 timeline (showing I guess at 50%), does that negate the idea that the enlarged portion would have a higher resolution than an enlarged 1080 clip?

I hope that makes sense, many thanks to anyone who can shed light on either issue. If the answer to the question about 4K on a 1080 sequence is that it's not worth bothering with, then the first issue about basic compatibility with my machine and 4K footage generally is moot.

TOPICS
Error or problem , Formats , Freeze or hang , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines