Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

4k proxies very laggy... normal?

Contributor ,
Apr 24, 2019 Apr 24, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am new to 4k editing but decided to test it out today on a 1080p timeline.

Loaded a clip and generated a proxy Prores LT 720p. Enabled proxies icon. All good.

At first scrubbing and play back seems ok but once i enable Lumetri it just dies and is too laggy.

In contrast last week i worked 1080p footage + same 720proxies, and it was flying.

Even 1080 prores direct in timeline plus effects is fine.

I just find it unusable to have 4k + 720p proxies. and i don't understand why.  Is this normal?

Surely when proxies are enabled it doesn't mater if parent footage is 4k or 1080? or does it?

thanks

/Johnny

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Contributor ,
Aug 06, 2020 Aug 06, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello i am suffering here!

Proxy editing is sooooo slow with 4k original footage. WHY???  When i add a lumetri effect to a clip the linee turn RED and becomes unusable.  In contrast if i import the proxy file and add lumtri it is yellow and supper smooth.

Can someone explain this??  defeats the point of enabling proxies. i can't figure it out please help!

Capture.PNG

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Please post computer specs (full setup)

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Contributor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, How are specs related to whether we can use proxies? it should be faster not slower..

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines