• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

4K Videos on Premier Pro - Only for The Rich?

New Here ,
Feb 04, 2021 Feb 04, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a beginner in video editing. I was going to learn using Premier Pro or Rush but it turns out that in order to be able to work with 4K videos smoothly, my equipment should have at least 32GB RAM which is not the case with my laptop. I checked prices and it looks like the cost starts from $1,800 for a desktop, let alone laptops. While being an amateur, I consider such an expense unreasonable at this point. Does it mean that using Premier Pro is for rich people?

TOPICS
Hardware or GPU , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

No, it means that Premiere Pro is pretty much intended for people who are using it at least semi-professionally, where the cost of the equipment is counted as part of the greater cost of doing business.

Yes, most computers 'strong' enough to work with Premiere are going to be above $1500. My new desktop was about $5700 not counting the eight drives I transferred over from my old rig. This one has 24 cores, 128Gb of RAM, and a 2080Ti. The old rig had 6 cores, 32Gb of RAM, and a 1060 GPU.

My laptop ran me about $2300 if I recall correctly ... now almost two years old.