• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Adjustment layer masking not working

New Here ,
Feb 12, 2021 Feb 12, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm almost a complete noob and hopefully this is something simple.

I add an adjustment layer and put it as the top track.

I create a rectangular mask and play with opacity. I see the rectangular outline on the video preview but it does nothing to the underlying video -- no effect.

If I create a mask directly on a clip it works.

How do I get the adjustment layer to do something? (My project is made up of many clips so applying masks to clips is not practical).

TOPICS
Effects and Titles

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Feb 12, 2021 Feb 12, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Could be that I am misunderstanding what the Mask does in the adjustment layer.

I want to block out the speaker in the top-right corner of a zoom video.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
May 27, 2021 May 27, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I ended up applying a difference blend mode to the marquee I drew around the stuff I wanted masked and that workaround achieved my goal. Not sure why the inverted mask didn't work but just applying a filter to the marquee itself within the layer mask will get the result for the Zoom video edit.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied