Adobe Premiere 2020 unbearably slow

Community Beginner ,
Feb 20, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello folks,

I have been paying full whack for the Adobe suite for many years, and I just can't take it anymore. Premiere just gets slower, and slower and slower. I even bought a brand new machine recently a BEAT of a machine -- 16 core ryzen, 64 gb ram, 2080GTX and 4tb NVME. I'm in windows. I would absolutley class myself as a power user of premiere and use it to produce a sucessful YouTube channel and make heavy use of all the expensive features i.e. nesting, effects but I do everything in 1080p using h264 files which should fly (?)

I understand that things should go much faster if I have a separate drive to use as a media cache, and I will try that. But this is literally a joke, I have to render out almost all nests, I can't even play a pre-rendered 1080p 6 track multicam in realtime even on 1/4 resolution. What else could I try? Use different codecs? 

Whenever I use the other Adobe tools like Photoshop, I get the same impression -- just a total dog. How the hell are we in this situation in 2021? It's like your tools are almost unusuable.

My friends use Resolve on their crappy laptops and their editing experience is 100x better than mine, I am pretty much ready to jump ship at this point. Anyone else done this yet?

TOPICS
Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Participant ,
Feb 20, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Well, you can try the free version of Resolve....but I would also suggest checking out the BlackMagic forum—you'll find no app is problem free.

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Enthusiast ,
Feb 20, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Translate

Translate