Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Aspect ratio issue

Community Beginner ,
Jan 30, 2021 Jan 30, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello community,

I'm brand new to Premiere pro and I'm having an issue with aspect ratio.  I've imported an SD video from a tv show into the program, 720x480 4:3, but it's stretching the video's aspect ratio and the picture is coming out looking like I tried converting it to a wider format.  When I go to sequence settings it's saying that the video is in 720x480 3:2.  I'll attach a pic of the settings.  How can I keep the proper 4:3 fullscreen when I export the file?

Thank you for your help.  

TOPICS
Editing , Export , Formats , Import

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Contributor , Feb 01, 2021 Feb 01, 2021

I think Richard M. Knight is on to something with the pixel aspect ratio but I would try going at it from a diffent angle.

I don't think your sequence is the issue. I think Premiere is misunderstanding your footage. I've had similar issues before. Leave your pixel aspect ratio whatever you want in the sequence.

Right click on your footage in the Project panel and click Modify then Interpret footage...

Once there, change the pixel aspect ratio to Conform to: .9091

Screen Shot 2021-02-01 at 6.23.12 PM.png

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Jan 31, 2021 Jan 31, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

720x480 is 3:2  not 4:3 using square pixels. Try changing the 'Pixel Aspect Ratio' from Square Pixels to something like this:

PAR.PNG

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Feb 01, 2021 Feb 01, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied