Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Audio: Mono and Stereo Tracks

Explorer ,
Mar 15, 2021 Mar 15, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello Support Communuty,

I have a seemingly complex issue that I will do my best to explain and I appreciate you taking the time to read this.

I am a few years into video editing in general and working with Pr Pro. I am studying film and video in college with one intro audio class under my belt and I am currently taking a more intense audio class.

I believe my understanding of mono and stereo to be solid. Mono tracks are a singular track, recorded using a single microphone. Stereo tracks are usually 2 tracks, with varying waveforms on each track, recorded using multiple microphones.

My Timeline preferences for Pr Pro are set to default mono, stereo, and 5.1 audio tracks to Mono, with Multichannel Mono Media set to "Use File." My question is, why is it that when I drop audio clips into my timeline, they appear as dual mono, on two separate tracks, with an "R" and an "L" on each track (I'd also like to point out that the 2 separate waveforms of each clip seem to have very small but appearent differences). The "R" and "L" throw me off becuase that indicates stereo, right? Also, I understand that when I left click the audio clip in the project panel, and select modify>audio channels, I can change that to only import on one track, but still the imported clip has an "R" or "L" on the bottom left corner.