Highlighted

Audio wont stay in sync

New Here ,
Jul 13, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

So I have a large project I have been working on in premiere for about 8 months now. The project itself is broken up into 7 different episodes (individual project files) that are then broken up into around 12 scenes per episode (which are nested sequences assembled in a master sequence). This is important because my problem is not consistent across each of the different project files or even the different scenes. 

I have not experienced any issues relating to audio sync since I first synced the video clips (.braw files with prores proxies made in premiere) to the audio clips (.mp3) 8 months ago. However this week I began seeing audio clips being randomly (or sometimes consistently across a scene or episode) shifted about a second forward or backward. The clips were not moved on the timeline, they still appeared in sync with the video, but rather its almost like it was never in sync and premiere has shifted the audio only and then re-cut the clip to the same size as before. 

I have no idea how to stop this from happening or to fix it other than just manually re-sync everything (which on a 2 hour total project would be a substantial amount of time). 

Some technical information:

My version number is 13.1.5 (Build 47)

I know this is not the most recent build, however, it was the newest stable (in my opinion) build at the time of me starting this project. I have bad experiences with moving up version numbers in the middle of projects and this is being edited across multiple machines (lack of backward compatibility adds to my hesitancy). Also didn't ever have a problem for 8 months. 

This is not a vfr issue. One it isnt drifting, two the entire project was shot at 24 frames in the same file format from the same camera. Every audio sync issue that I have found a forum on seems to be pointing to vfr however I am pretty sure that is not the case here.