• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Choppy, slow, jerky export

Explorer ,
Jun 21, 2021 Jun 21, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm pretty much a total newb and not sure of the correct terminology so apologies in advance.

The other day I got an Insta360 One R 360 camera and I shot some video with it yesterday. The 360 videos playback fine in the Insta360 desktop App but you can't edit clips together in it so I've installed Premier Pro and the GoPro Reframe Plugin. The are however two problems:

1. Preview quality within Premier is awful. It's so jerky and slow and you can't be acurate with cuts. For my needs it's just about usuable. I've set the playback resolution to 1/4 but it's not really made much difference. If this is as good as I can get it, then I can live with it until I can afford to upgrade my iMac.

2. The absolute deal breaker though is that whatever I export from Premier is also really slow and jerky and completely unplayable.

So far I've tried two exports both as Quicktime movie files.

First Export: This was my mistake, I tried to run before I could crawl. When editing I had set the Reframe plugin resolution to 3840x2160 and set the sequence frame size to that too. I also must not have set something correctly in the export window because the resulting file was actually 5760x2880 and was nearly 32GB despite being only 3 mins long. When I attempted to play it back, there were huge black bars all around the video and the playback was slow, jerky and choppy.

Second Export. This time I changed the resolution in the plugin and the Sequence to 1920x1080. In the Export settings I set the Output Scaling to match source and the resulting file was indeed 1920x1080 and a much smaller 5.2GB. However again the playback is really slow, jerky and choppy.

The Export Summary says

Output: Path/filename.mov 1920x1080 (1), 29.97 fps, Progressive, 203 (75% HLG, 58% uncompressed, 48000Hz, Stereo, 16bit